wirespeed

the hypothetical maximum data transmission rate of a telecommunications medium

Weird cinema survey

Posted by dlandgren on 2008-09-19

I received an e-mail link today asking me to take part in a survey “on the media”. Since I’m always willing to take advantage of an online survey to twist the answers to create a really odd datapoint in their database, I set about filling out the questions.

It didn’t last long. It turned out that they were after opinions on films destined for a six year old child. They wanted to know which of the following films my six year old had seen. The list was… odd, to say the least:

  • English/American
    • Hancock
    • Journey to the Center of the Earth (2006)
    • Kung Fu Panda
    • Meet Dave
    • The Bank Job
    • The Dark Knight
    • The Incredible Hulk (2008)
    • The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor
    • The X-Files: I Want to Believe
    • Wall-E
    • Wanted
  • Israeli
    • Waltz with Bashir
  • Italian
    • Gomorra
  • French
    • L’empreinte de l’ange
    • Le premier jour du reste de ta vie
    • Mes amis mes amours
    • Nos 18 ans

Now I’ve seen Waltz with Bachir, which is a fantastic film, but it’s not something I’d take a six year along to see. In fact, I wouldn’t take them to see any of them, except perhaps for Wall-E and Kung-fu Panda.

I was tempted to answer yes to a couple of them, or perhaps all of them, but it was too much; I answered none of the above. At that point the survey ended, so I’ll never know what they wanted to know, but I find it odd that there are people who would consider taking their young children to see such films.

Leave a Reply

 
